Skip to content ↓

The Charter School

East Dulwich

Safeguarding

The Charter Schools Educational Trust (the ‘Trust’) is committed across all its schools, including The Charter School East Dulwich to providing a safe and secure environment for children, staff and visitors and to promoting a culture in which everyone feels confident about sharing any and all concerns they may have about their own safety and well-being or the safety and well-being of others.  

Our aim is to safeguard and promote the welfare of children by: protecting them from maltreatment; preventing impairment of children’s health or development; ensuring that children grow up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care; and taking robust action to enable all children to have the best outcomes possible.  

Our Lead Safeguarding Team
 

Ms Carolyn Ankrah
Designated Safeguarding Lead,
Assistant Head of School for Inclusion
cankrah@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

 

Ms Maria Chalcraft
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead,
Deputy Head of School, Pastoral
mchalcraft@chartereastdulwich.org.uk



 

Ms Alison Harbottle
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead,
Headteacher
aharbottle@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

 

Ms Christine Banton
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead
Safeguarding Administrator
cbanton@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

 

 


During out-of-school hours, please contact:
Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) on 020 7525 5000.

 

Our Wider Safeguarding Team


Amanda Withers
Acting Assistant Headteacher of Sixth Form and DDSL
awithers@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

Sophie Graham
Assistant Headteacher for Student Culture and DDSL
sgraham@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

Charmaine Lawrence
Patoral Interventions Lead and DDSL
clawrence@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

Derrick Anderson
Family Liaison Officer and DDSL
danderson@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

Link Governor for Safeguarding
Rebecca Kaloo, Chair of Governors
chair@chartereastdulwich.org.uk

Link Trustee for Safeguarding
Ms Karen Robinson
(Contact via the Head of Governance: svarcoe@tcset.org.uk)

Southwark Safeguarding: https://safeguarding.southwark.gov.uk/

The Charter Schools Educational Trust's Child Protection Policy
‚ÄčThe Policy is applicable to all on-and-off-site activities undertaken by children while they are the responsibility of our school. Everyone who comes into contact with children and their families and carers has a role to play in safeguarding children. This includes 

  • Teachers 
  • Teaching/Learning Support assistants 
  • Technicians 
  • Administrative staff 
  • Supply teachers/Cover supervisors 
  • Students 
  • Peripatetic staff  
  • Catering and cleaning staff 
  • Premises staff 
  • Midday supervisors 
  • Visitors/volunteers 
  • Adult helpers 
  • Local Governors 
  • Trustees

The Trust's Safeguarding Policy can be downloaded below.